October 1924: Franklin D. Roosevelt makes his first visit to Georgia, seeking relief from polio at Warm Springs.

Mid 1920s: Roosevelt stops at a Mountville drugstore owned by O.R. Caudle, with whom he discusses the need for rural electricity.

November 1932: Roosevelt is elected president of the United States.

May 11, 1935: Roosevelt enacts the Rural Electrification Administration (REA).

Spring 1936: O.R. Caudle and others gather at Troup County Court House to form a group with the purpose of bringing rural electricity to the area.

July 9, 1936: A charter is granted and the new electric cooperative is named Troup County Rural Electrification Corporation.

July 10, 1936: The co-op’s first legal meeting is held and directors are elected.

October 28, 1936: The contract for the first 76.7 miles of power lines is officially let.

May 6, 1937: The first 76.7 miles of electric power lines are energized, bringing rural power to the people of Troup County.

January 1938: The name of the co-op is changed to Troup County Electric Membership Corporation.

August 11, 1938: Giving a speech in Barnesville, FDR states, “it can be said that a little cottage at Warm Springs, Georgia, was the birthplace of the Rural Electrification Administration.”

April 12, 1995: During the 50th commemorative ceremony of FDR’s death in Warm Springs, Anne Roosevelt speaks of her grandfather’s relationship with Warm Springs and west Georgia: “We who bear his name by birth do not own his legacy. You do.”

July 1996: The co-op moves to new headquarters at 1400 South Davis Road.

May 2002: Troup EMC’s name is changed to Diverse Power Incorporated.

January 1, 2014: Diverse Power Incorporated acquires the Pataula District from Cobb EMC.



8AM – 5PM

Together, we’re bringing energy to life. Diverse Power is more than just your electric company, we’re your neighbor. A member-owned cooperative, we’re delivering advanced technology, service and quality to homes and businesses in the counties we serve.

1400 South Davis Road
P.O. Box 160
LaGrange, GA 30241

Pataula District
373 U. S. Hwy 82E
P.O. Box 289
Cuthbert, GA 39840

©2006 - 2024 Diverse Power. Powered by Kelsey | Click here for Anthem BCBS MRF